Skip to content

Sweet Potato Banana Muffins

November 1, 2011
My friend, Meghan (thanks Meghan!) made these delicious muffins for our children’s playdate snack. I tweaked her recipe to include  honey, coconut oil, and 100% whole wheat flour. And I dare you to eat only one. Beat that, I triple-dog-dare you!

Sweet Potato-Banana Muffins

2 medium sweet potatoes
2-3 ripe bananas
1/4 cup (scant) raw honey or brown sugar
1/2 cup Coconut oil (melted)
2 large eggs
1/1/2 -2 cups whole wheat flour (start with 1 1/2 cup and add as needed)
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp fresh ground nutmeg (optional)
1/8 tsp ground cloves (optional)
1 tsp vanilla extract (optional)
Method:

Bake sweet potato (with skins on) in the oven at 400 degrees until done (about 40 min).  Let cool in skin, then remove skins with fingers and mash the potato with a fork or masher. You can do this the night before.

Mash the bananas. Mix potato, mashed banana, honey/ sugar, oil,  and eggs.  The coconut oil may flake back into a solid. No worries it will melt back during baking.
In separate bowl, mix dry ingredients, including spices.  I prefer to sift them with a sifter or a fine mesh strainer. I think it helps the muffins have a lighter feel. Feel free to use a fork.
Mix both bowls together.
Bake in a lined muffin pan at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until puffed, golden, and springy.
Try to eat only one. I dare you.
21 Comments leave one →
  1. Shara G. E. permalink
    July 4, 2012 7:11 am

    Sounds delicious! How many muffins does this recipe make? Is it more like 6ish? Or more like 12ish? Thanks!

  2. February 7, 2015 3:25 pm

    Yummm…!

  3. April 21, 2016 1:21 pm

    Add small can of pineapple with juice, 1 cup of oats, pecans, half cup of coconut, half cup brown sugar. Made 24 muffins. Turn out very good!!

  4. Jessica permalink
    October 31, 2016 10:50 am

    Can this recipe be halved? I only have 1 banana!

    • November 1, 2016 6:46 pm

      why not? I don’t see a problem. I haven’t done it. But Muffins are pretty forgiving. Good luck! 🙂

  5. Sara permalink
    May 8, 2017 8:58 am

    How many does it make?

  6. Dalia permalink
    September 10, 2017 10:25 am

    These sound amazing and I will make them for my family but my question is can they be done gluten free? I also want to eat them 🙂 and is it possible to use less coconut oil…not a fan of the taste.

  7. ShelleyRW. permalink
    August 3, 2018 5:12 pm

    I made these muffins today it made my house smell so good! I was looking for something to use left over sweet potatoes & ripe bananas, I came across this recipe and it was perfect. I added pecans from our tree and doubled the batch with the extra bananas I had on hand. I also added 1 tsp extra cinnamon. I will be making these again. Now heading back to kitchen for a second one….. they are that good!

  8. Kathy permalink
    October 30, 2018 11:34 am

    Can I use All Purpose Flour ??

  9. Maria permalink
    December 21, 2018 6:39 pm

    Can I omit the bananas? I don’t have any ripe ones right now lol

  10. Ivy permalink
    April 20, 2021 8:37 am

    These look amazing! By chance, do you know the calorie content of these?

    • August 29, 2021 9:02 pm

      So sorry I don’t, I suppose you could weigh all the ingredients and then calculate it. Sorry I don’t have a better solution. Good Luck 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Whipped Maple Sweet Potatoes and Stuff « Crunchy Soup
  2. That’s a Crock of … Vegan Banana Bread « Crunchy Soup
  3. The time I made muffins! Sweet Potato Banana CHOCOLATE CHIP Muffins! | lizrael update
  4. Sweet Potato Banana Muffins | blue skies and bright eyes
  5. Sweet Potato Banana Muffins – heartlandhandicraft
  6. Quick & Nutritious Breakfast Ideas for a One Year Old · Urban Mom Tales

Leave a comment