Skip to content

That’s a Crock of … Vegan Banana Bread

January 10, 2012

I didn’t set out for this bread to be vegan, but I didn’t want was too lazy to go shopping for eggs,  so I used an egg subsitute of flax meal and water with great success. (Recipe below.)

I also didn’t want to deal with a hot oven and my overly clingy 19-month-old, so I crocked it up, using a recipe from, “Make it Fast and Cook it Slow”- by Stephanie O’ Dea as inspiration.

I used my new fabulous Blendtec blender, with so-so results. It’s a little rubbery. In the future I will mix by hand. Though, I love the easy clean up of the Blendtec!

Vegan (because I’m too lazy to shop) Crock Pot Banana Bread

  • 1 1/2 cups AP WW flour (or GF flour of choice)
  • 1 1/2tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 large egg or vegan egg replacement (recipe below)
  • 1 cup mashed ripe banana (about 2 large bananas)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar (or sugar alternative/ subsitute)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar (or rapadura)
  • 1/4 cup canola oil or melted coconut oil (mmm my fav, smells like summer!)
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • cooking spray or coconut oil to lube up the pan

The How-To:

(Use an oval 6-quart slow cooker)

  1. First check to ensure your loaf pan fits INSIDE your slow cooker.
  2. Mix up the banana bread (I used my Blend-Tec, see above, Blender since it was already dirty from making the egg replacement.)
  3. Lube the loaf pan well, and pour the batter in. Hey batter batter…
  4. Place the pan inside the slow cooker, dry. No water in the cooker.
  5. Prop open the top with a wooden spoon. (I forgot to do this, and it still turned out great!)
  6. Cook on high for 4 hours or until a toothpick comes out clean.  It took about 3 hours 45 min. Don’t use the low setting, it won’t work well according to Stephanie O’ Dea.

This was seriously so easy to do. I love that I can leave the house, go play in the back yard, or set this up in my timed slow cooker and wake up to fresh banana bread.

I think I will use my naturally sweetened banana bread recipe AKA Gut Scrapper Bread,   or my Sweet Potato Banana Muffin recipe in a loafpan next time. This one, though tasty, sent my blood glucose flying! Wee…grrr… crash! Not fun people. I like to ride it low and steady baby! Low Glycemic is where it is at I tell ya.

::::::::

Vegan Egg Replacement – No eggs, no problem!

1/3 Flax seeds or chia seeds

1 cup water

Let it rest for 5 min before using.

It will thicken and gel up. Kinda cool if you ask me. Looks like a big boogers and kids love boogers, at least mine do!

Combine together using a blender. Makes 6 “eggs”.

No blender? Use a coffee grinder to first grind the seeds, then combine with the water by hand. Viola!

Leave a Reply

