Skip to content

Whipped Maple Sweet Potatoes and Stuff

November 8, 2011

Insomnia. Well, sorta.

Mainly, my sleep is ALL kinds of messed due to a recent resolution to be in bed before 10 pm. (Well at least on my days off.)

In normal Kristina fashion of overdoing things,  I have been going to bed  between 8 and 9pm, albeit, while I nurse Max down. Then, I wake at 1 or 2 am (thanks again to Max) unable to fall back to sleep.

I realize I am blessed/cursed to survive on 5-6 hours of sleep per night, but once I hit that 5 hour mark it’s futile for me to even attempt getting back to sleep. Last night, I was up at 1 am and didn’t get back to sleep until 4am.

LORDY!

Read my previous post along with my recent early bedtimes and let’s just say Guy was more than slightly curious about my “State of Fertility”, though smart enough not to inquire. Smart, very smart.

Until I said,

“I know you think I am acting pregnant, or crazy, or hormonal in one way or another. I am not pregnant and the jury is out on the crazy. I just got my well… you know.”

To this my lovely husband responded,

“I was thinking who are you? You aren’t usually like this. There must be something up, you don’t go to bed that early. I started counting and then thought well either it’s one thing or the other.”

We laughed. I apologized.

And for your inquiring minds. Just to make it crystal clear, we are not expecting. It’s called PMS, and for some reason this month I was hit hard! Last week was full of migraines, extra ordinary clumsiness, disorganized thoughts, and an inability to multi-task at my normal aptitude.

Now this is what KILLS me! Despite the kids retreating to bed at 7:30pm on a Friday night (unheard of!!) and the opportunity for some actual quality time with my favorite Guy, I had a killer headache and a wicked sour stomach, so I went to bed, at 8pm (again). Well, not actually to “bed”, but passed out on the couch. Lame!

So here I am again, at 2:41 am, awake on a Friday (Saturday morning if you want to split hairs)  writing about sweet potatoes. Who’s lame now? Raising hand, “ME ME!!” Surrounded by old magazines. To glean inspiration for the upcoming holiday and to justify their existence in on various bookshelves to myself, but mainly to Guy. Ironically the KING of magazines. Though, he has no problem tossing or passing them on. Perhaps, it’s the fact he can actually read them during this evening bathroom “retreats”.

I digress. What was this post supposed to be about? Oh, yes sweet potatoes.

::::

Oh me, oh my, these sweet potatoes are lick the beater GOOD.  I am on a mission that sweet potatoes need not to be served only the third Thursday of November, but any day. They are tasty, easy to prepare, versatile and jam packed with nutrients. Did I mention kid friendly too. Though my kids, to my surprise and dismay, were not into these at all. More for mom!!!

::::

Maple Whipped Sweet Potatoes

Inspired by Everyday Food Magazine November 2010

Ingredients:

    • 5-6 Medium sweet potatoes
    • 2 TBSP butter (room temp or melted)
    • 1/8-1/4 cup REAL maple syrup (none of the fake crap)
    • 1/2 tsp cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice
    • 1tsp vanilla (optional)
    • Salt and pepper to taste (we used sel de cuisine from Golden Fig)
Method:
  1. Preheat oven to 400 and place sweet potatoes skins poked a couple times  on a baking sheet. I recommend lining the cooking surface as the potatoes will leak a sticky syrup while cooking that is a BEAST to remove. Cook at 400 for approximately 45-50 min or until VERY tender. (You can do this the night before. While you’re at it, bake extra and make these yummy sweet potato banana muffins.)
  2. Once cooled slightly remove skins with fingers they should slide right off. If not slice the potatoes in half and scoop them out, keeping in mind this will decrease your yield.
  3. Whip them up with a hand beater, food processor, or stand mixer.
  4. Season to taste with salt, pepper, or seasoning of choice.

Left overs (ha!) can be thinned out into a thick rich soup,  used at ravioli filling, spread on tortillas with black beans and cheese, used as a sandwich spread with left over poultry or even used in sweet potato pie (if the savory seasoning were kept at a minimum.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kai permalink
    November 8, 2011 2:51 am

    I use a variation of this recipe to make sweet potato pie. Sounds delicious. Thanks for your PMS. Sorry but it does have its benefits for the general populous.

    • November 8, 2011 12:58 pm

      Thanks for the comment! It’s nice to hear from readers 🙂
      mmm…sweet potato pie. I have never had it. Do you have the recipe posted? Have a great day! Kristina

  2. Kai permalink
    November 8, 2011 1:24 pm

    I don’t work from a recipe. I watched my mom make it for twenty years of my life and have made it myself for the other umpteen years so, I go from memory. It really is basically the same only cinnamon not pumpkin pie spice. Nutmeg. Brown Sugar. No salt or pepper. Add an egg or two. Can add a little flour. Up the butter. Everything is to taste. Oh and put it in a pie shell. My mom didn’t make pie shells.

Leave a Reply

