Skip to content

Sneaky Chocolate Chip Cookies with Chickpeas

January 21, 2011

20 degrees BELOW zero + A very active toddler = COOKIE DAY!

(I do declare!)

Plus,  I deserve a cookie darn it!

Did I mention it was -20 outside?

Sneaky Chocolate Chip Cookies with Chickpeas

These cookies are surprisingly light and nutty! My husband who is usually suspect of my baking ate these without question. (Well… almost. He knows better than to think I would make something “traditional”.)

I also took 1/2 the batch to work for my co-workers to critique with rave reviews! Once informed they had beans in them the response was, “Really?!? They are yummy!”

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 can garbanzo beans (aka chickpeas) drained and rinsed well (you may sub. in any white beans)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter (I used 1/2 c butter and 1/4 c coconut oil)
  • 3/4 cup dark or light brown sugar
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oatmeal
  • 1/2 c chopped walnuts
  • 1 tsp baking soda (aluminum free)
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 F

1. In your food processor/ blender puree the rinsed and well-drained chickpeas. Add eggs and vanilla to beans and puree together.

2. Cream the butter and sugar together with a mixer, add the bean and egg mixture, continue to mix until combined.

3. Add the chocolate chips and walnuts, mix well.

4. Add the flours, oats, salt, and baking soda. Mix until well combined.

5. Scoop out uniform portions and drop onto cookie sheet. Flatten slightly with a fork.

6. Bake for 11-13 min. DO NOT OVER BAKE!

Adapted from Deceptively Delicious by Jessica Seinfeld

P.S. If you are new here referred from “Green Bites”  Welcome! Look around make yourself at home. I would suggest heading over to my “Recipe Index” page for inspiration. Also take a moment to checkout my friend Karen’s Blog over at Mamalooma .  I think she is AWESOME and I bet you will too!

P.P.S. Please leave me some comment love! I would love to hear from you.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Meghan permalink
    January 21, 2011 2:56 pm

    I’m going to try these! Yay for hiding healthy things in cookies!

Trackbacks

  1. Shoutouts – Winter Edition « Crunchy Soup
  2. Butterscotch Oatmeal Cookies | La Phemme Phoodie

Leave a comment