Skip to content

Archive of unpublished blogs: Holiday Party 2018

June 3, 2019

Friday evening Guy and I hosted a Holiday Party in our home. It was the first holiday party we have hosted since moving to our house almost 6 years ago. We haven’t done much entertaining in our home, mainly because of having three kids and busy schedules. However this year I decided it was time to revisit a side of our lives, entertaining.

I created the Facebook event on a whim while 2 glasses in on my favorite white wine.

“You’re invited to our holiday party.
There will be wine, food, and Bob Dylan Christmas carols.

Kid friendly. We’ll order pizza and they can play games, and watch movies.

It’s gonna be fun.
Maybe, Guy will whittle you a wooden spoon by the fire pit in the back yard. (Bring your whittling knife, we will supply the wood.)

Oh and there will be whisky. Good whisky.

Optional: Bring an item to share and/or your favorite libation and Wear your best ugly holiday sweater.”

Guy read the invite.

“Fire pit? We don’t have a fire pit.”
“Well then we better get one…”
“Whittling by the fire pit? What?”
“Haha yeah I was a little unsober when I drafted this invite.”
“I’ll get some wood for the party.”
“That’s what she said.”

The party ended up being a blast. SO many kids. I would say at we had about 60-75 people including children cross our threshold during the party. I greatly underestimated the amount of food, as most people brought wine. (I’m not complaining.)

When the first group of guests went home, we busted out our guitars and started jamming. The fire was going and shenanigans entailed there as well.

Zoey was handing out pop cans like contraband… haha (we have to keep an eye on this one in the future.) Amelia was playing twister with her friends, and Max had “Nailed it” on TV and kids were doing water painting?

This is what the holidays are about for me, not the gifts and consumerism, but the connection and camaraderie.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 5, 2019 10:46 am

    I appreciate, result in I found exactly what I was taking a look for.
    You have ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you
    man. Have a nice day. Bye

Leave a comment