Skip to content

Pumpkin Oatmeal Pancakes

August 24, 2010

Pumpkin Oatmeal Pancakes 

  • 1/3 c Old Fashioned Oatmeal
  • 2 eggs (or egg whites to make them reduced fat)
  • Dash of milk (until desired thickness obtained)
  • 1/3  C  Pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (more or less)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp agave nectar (or sugar if you prefer, more or less depending on how sweet you like ‘em)
  • 1/4 – 1/3 c  whole wheat flour (more or less again, depending on how thick you like them.)

Sometimes I add a little plain low-fat organic yogurt, buttermilk, or sub in buckwheat flour for some of the whole wheat flour. I also usually add  1 tsp of chia and 2 tbsp ground flax.

Mix together the eggs and oats. This is when I let Amelia stir to her heart’s content while I do something like, unload the dishwasher. This gives the oats time to soften. Or if you feel inclined, soak your oats overnight in yogurt or water in the fridge.)

5 min later…mix together the other ingredients until just combined.

TIP: When cooking, don’t move them until they are “set” otherwise you will have a big mess and they will be tough!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Khylia permalink
    November 21, 2014 12:50 pm

    I tried these this morning for breakfast for myself, my 3 1/2 year old, and my 1 year old and we all loved them! They are delicious with maple syrup and chopped bananas – which is what I had on hand. I am sure they would be great with chocolate chips, nuts, or even berries. I also loved how quickly they came together. Thank you for the great recipe!

    • January 23, 2015 5:06 pm

      Awesome!!!! Thanks for commenting and letting me know! I will have to revive this recipe. Thanks for reminding me of it too!!! Have a great day 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Naughty Apple Pie Pancakes « Crunchy Soup

Leave a comment