Skip to content

Knitting Zoey a tunic and pondering

November 25, 2015

 

It took about 10 days of knitting off and on to make two panels. Alas my lass doesn’t care for her “pretty.” (That is what she calls it, probably because I kept saying how pretty it was.) I picked this particular color because it’s one of my favorites and it’s hard to find children’s clothing in neutral colors. This color just jumped out at me while browsing the selection at my LYS, the Yarnery. It’s Rowan yarn. I have about 3/4 of a skein left, I may make a small matching hat, or a pair of matching mittens. Amelia was quite smitten with the design and has already requested her own. I had Amelia’s started, but in classic sister antics, Zoey took a scissors to my knitting and ruined Amelias dress. Luckily I was only about 4 inches in. Once thanksgiving passes, I will restart Amelias tunic/dress (she wants it longer.) what I enjoyed about this pattern was I could knit on auto pilot as the majority of it was stockingette stitch and the decreases were only one row and in the yolk around the arms. I watched a lot of MSNBC coverage of the Paris attacks while knitting. So a mindless pattern was ideal because my mind was not on my knitting.
My friend Lauren is in Moracco visiting her boyfriend, Jihad. Lauren (who has many Syrian friends in the U.S.) told me about the Syrian refugees she saw begging in morocco. She wanted me to share this with whomever will listen. It is getting cold as these people need safe refuge. In the Middle East, in Europe and in North America. These people are escaping the very terrorism and terrorists who attacked Lebanon, Mali, and Paris (to list a few places.)
Minnesota has a strong and long tradition of helping refugees and resettling them here. We have one of the largest Hmong and Somali populations in the U.S. I am proud of my state, it’s hospitality, and its diversity. We are stronger because of all who make MN home. I welcome a new wave of refugees from Syria with open arms and am looking into ways to help our current refugees and future refugees feel welcome and wanted. The future of our nation, the future of peace, and the future of humanity hinges not on the large scale interactions but on the small interactions and connections we make with each other in our communities. We also need to model this for our children. So while I am knitting a tunic for my child, I am pondering how I can help knit my community together one stitch at a time.

image

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

