Skip to content

Writing without an audience or writing for myself while you look over my shoulder

November 24, 2015

When I started this blog, I had bigger aspirations for it. But alas, this little parcel of the interwebs is not often tread upon, and honestly it’s ok.

It’s ok because I don’t want to write for you. I want to write for me, about things that I want to write about, not subject that will draw in page views or clicks, guest blog spots, or acclaim. I just want to write for me, and perhaps my children who may someday look upon these passages. If I didn’t want anyone to read them, then why make a blog. Because well, to be honest we all want to be validated. There I said it. We all want to be heard, even if it is by a couple souls who wander by. I am not spilling my guts on here, but more or less sharing the exciting, and eventful, and even the mundane aspects of my life as a wife, mother, friend, person of the world. Sharing what I enjoy doing like cooking and making bring me joy. So even if I don’t have a large readership. I enjoy the company of others.

My favorite blogs are the ones where I feel a bit awkward reading, like umm…(looking side to side) are you sure this was meant for me. But not in a TMI way, but in a way an individual tells their truth, unadulterated, without pretense. A while ago I stumbled across such a blog. It was so well written, so honest, so interesting, so inspiring. I am still mourning it’s absence. One day it was there…the next it was gone. I have scoured the web for her next venture (kinda stalker like…but with the best intentions…like an old friend trying to reconnect.) But alas she is gone. Poof. I miss her blog. I miss hearing about this stranger’s life. Drawing the similarities. Inspired by her courage. Sometime I go back to the address, holding my breath it will be back…no dice.

So like most friendships and relationships they have a tidal nature. relationships impressed upon wet sand only to be gradually washed away by the ebb and flow of the tide, until not even a trace remains. Washed away. Some friendships remain more stable and become more beautiful with age, like sea glass. The tide etches what once was shiny and sharp into something smooth, and completely different and yet the same.

Long story short.  I want to write like her, for someone like me reading on.

Are you a long time reader? If you want, let me know. Or don’t, either way I am glad you’re there for what ever reason you are, and for whatever reason you continue to comeback. I hope you are well.

Have a wonderful and blessed Thanksgiving.

Kristina

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn permalink
    November 24, 2015 10:37 pm

    I love reading your blog! Thanks for taking the time and sharing your life with us!

  2. Melissa permalink
    November 25, 2015 8:13 am

    Your blog comes right to my inbox, and I read every one, though it occurs to me you’d have no way of knowing that. I love reading what you write. It I very honest and frank, and I would know it was you without seeing your name on it, because it is written in your voice. Thanks for sharing with others.

  3. November 27, 2015 1:39 pm

    Absolutely beautiful. I’m going to enjoy being a part of your journey 😊 I’m so glad I have stumbled across the blogging world. 💗

Leave a Reply

