Skip to content

North Shore – Part 2 North House Folk School Kids Knit Class

October 20, 2015

About 5 years ago while driving past the Folk School in Grand Marais I said to Guy, “Someday I hope Amelia and I can take a class there.” The morning of the class Guy reminded me of this buried memory.IMG_5710

 

IMG_5703


IMG_5704
IMG_5705 IMG_5706 IMG_5707 IMG_5708By the end of the 2 hour class, Amelia got the hang of the knit stitch. She was amazed how fast the time went, “It felt like only 5 minutes Mom!” My heart was so full that day, to how much perseverance she has. She didn’t complain once about it being hard, or say “I can’t do this.” I credit the patient hands of Kate and Allen our instructors at the North House Folk School with this. Amelia brought out her needles on the way home from Grand Marais, but found it too difficult to knit at this point without me immediately next to her. So we will continue to stick with it, one stitch at a time. And isn’t that a great motto for life anyway? “Life one stitch at a time.” Life lessons in yarn abound.
IMG_5709Following our class we ran into these visiting sled dogs. I was sad Max wasn’t with us to meet them. His preschool tracked the sled dog teams through the Iditarod last year. Each day Max would come home with a new trivia fact about husky sled dogs. These particular dogs were gorgeous.

IMG_5718

We ended our Mother-Daughter morning with a walk to the Cook County Co-op for a cookie and some coffee. As you can see, my little baby isn’t a baby anymore, and maturing into a very hard working, determined, focused, witty, and amazing young girl. I feel so honored to get to raise her, know her, and call myself her mother. The other day I gave her a big hug and whispered in her ear, “I am so glad I get to be your mama. You are so wonderful and I am glad I get to spend my time with you now, because when you get older I won’t be able to be with you as much and that’s ok, so I am just trying to spend as much time with you now while I can.” She smiled at me. I don’t ever want my kids to think that raising them is a chore, or something I can’t wait to be done doing. My children will never hear, “I can’t wait until you are 18 and move out.” or “I can’t wait until I get my life back.” or “I can’t wait until you move out and then I am FREE.” Nope. Never. While yes, parenting is challenging and somedays I do want to escape and find a personal refuge to recharge my tanks, I never wish my children’s childhood away. I love and am so very proud of who they are each  becoming, so different and equally enamoring. I wouldn’t want to miss out on witnessing them grow for the world.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

