Skip to content

Defying the myth of Perfection

February 8, 2015

When I previously blogged here, it had to be perfect. Perfectly edited. Perfectly themed. Perfectly photographed. In the midst of this drive to perfection I missed out on an opportunity. An opportunity to share. Often my drive for perfection paralyzes me into inaction. I have slowly embraced “good enough.” Let this not be confused with “lazy” or “sloppy” or “apathetic” (though these adjectives certainly are and could be used to describe me at one point or another in regards to this blog.)

This all or nothing mindset is based in fear and or a lack of confidence what I put forth a great deal of effort will not measure up. So instead of facing my ineptitude, I don’t try. This attitude and my feeling of incompetence waxes and wanes in relation to the season and what I am pursuing.

Next week I (and my family) have a huge decision to make regarding a path I could take in my career. It’s exciting and terrifying. I don’t want to make the wrong decision. I am comfortable where I am and mostly content. I grapple with the notion I should and could be doing more. I grapple with the thought of future me looking back right now with regret of the step not taken or in regret of the step taken. I am grappling with the timing and the loss of what I envisioned  the upcoming year to look like in contrast to what I also envision five years down the road looking like. I don’t want too wait too long to get back into my profession, but I also don’t want to step back prematurely and miss out on my children. All the doors to this upcoming opportunity have flown open virtually effortlessly. I don’t want to miss my chance either way. Letting go of perfection in my life is a start, I don’t need to have mylife perfect to take action. The timing will never me perfect. Perhaps “good enough” is what I need to embrace.

Thanks for reading

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2015 1:05 pm

    I can definitely relate to your words here. I also need to embrace the ‘good enough’ – sometimes I feel paralysed by the desire to create something that is ‘perfect’ and end up not doing anything at all. It is reassuring to know that other people experience a similar thing. I hope your new opportunities are all you wish them to be whatever you choose. x

  2. Cherie permalink
    February 9, 2015 1:30 am

    May you be blessed during this week of decision, just because the doors opened easily does not necessarily mean it is the right path but might just be a reminder to review where you are going and embrace your choices. The thing that keeps me from being paralyzed by the need for perfect or despaired by negativity is the reminder that those “wrongs” have made me exactly who I am. Without each step on each path I wouldn’t be right where I am, wouldn’t be who I am, and wouldn’t be able to be the person someone else will need without those missteps and perfect steps on a very rugged changing path.

    While I miss seeing you on FB, I am so glad to see you back on your blog being your honest self. May the winter bugs depart from your home and may you find peace & joy in this upcoming week. Know that there are many warm sunny positives being sent winging your way Sopa!

    • February 9, 2015 3:09 am

      Thanks Cherie. It’s knowing there are individuals, like yourself and many others, I have encountered along this winding path in the confluence of career and life which make me realize whatever step I take, I will land.

Leave a Reply

