Skip to content

My sick Zoey-Girl

February 5, 2015

image

My little sick Zoey-Girl. Last night she woke up, started to whimper and gag, so I propped her up a little with my arm and she proceeded to vomit on me. We co-sleep. It was all over our bed. So I sat up and held her as she continued to vomit into my lap, luckily by then Guy had thrown me a large pre-fold diaper. Pre-folds are the best thing ever! I sat there and held her, while she cried and heaved. This woke up Max who had already trekked up to our room and was sleeping on the mattress located on the floor next to our bed. We relocated him to our bedroom couch. (We have a 1.5 story home, and our room is the whole top story.) I got up into the rocking chair while Guy stripped the bed and kept me in supply of new prefolds. Zoey vomited about 4-6 times. She nursed a little in between, but by the end it was straight bile. The acrid familiar smell made me reminisce about my days in Oncology, as I knew this smell far too well. Bilious emesis. I offered sweet zoey a small sip of water but she refused, only wanting my breast. Thankfully I don’t have a huge supply so she couldn’t gorge herself. Finally we moved to the bed on the floor, while Guy and Max slept in the bedroom tv area. It was a long long night of nursing, and rocking, and vomiting. But as the sun rose I knew perhaps we would be in the clear… I was a bit too optimistic. We were in bed until 10 am … Thank good ness for tv. We finally made our way down stairs, first thing I did was bathe my sweet girl, since baby wipes don’t sufficiently clean vomit. She hates baths, and while sick she really hates them. It was a quick douse and done. The acrid smell of her vomit soaked hair replaced with the sweet smell of Burt’s bees. She played the morning with her older brother while I bleached the bathroom. (Cue dance yourself clean by LCD) then she crashed and has nursed all day. Max alas has been entertained by the tv all day… And well I feel bad, but a moms gotta do what a moms gotta do. I was supposed to watch my friends child today and tomorrow also! So the timing truly stinks. Ugh… Is winter going to be over soon?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2015 1:58 pm

    She looks so peaceful in the photo. Sorry about your night, hope she is feeling better soon, and that the rest of you stay healthy.

  2. February 5, 2015 2:54 pm

    You must be ready to fall dead asleep after the last 24 hours. Being a mom has to be the hardest job in the world. I hope she’s feeling better and no one else catches it. Try to get some rest.

Leave a Reply

