Skip to content

School’s out for summer!!!!

June 11, 2014

This school year was sandwiched with transition. At the start, with the birth of Zoey in September and at the end of the  with a diagnosis of stage 3 cancer road tripping to the Mayo Clinic. Both experiences have been hard on my eldest child, Amelia who also started and completed kindergarten. It’s been a hard year for her, lots of transitions. Some overt, like above, some a bit more hidden in her space, her personal experience with our world. A place I can try my best to understand,  but will never fully experience. This is part of her individuating from myself and my husband, and it’s sometimes appears to overwhelm my 6 year old. But she needs to stretch, not until it’s painful, but until she feels the release in her own time, I her own space. When it is too much, I want her to know I am here, we are here, to support her, love her, and be her haven. We all need a haven. Some of us never had the soft landing, the unconditional acceptance of our parents. As I raise my children I see more and more how this was lacking in my own childhood. I am blind, not really sure how to do this, how to provide a soft haven for my little chicks, but I’m trying while simultaneously creating one for myself, within myself. And this might be the best example my children see is a woman, their mother, accepting herself as she was, as she is, and for who she will become. To see their mother love herself, not in a way that diminishes or distracts from her love for them but mirrors it.

Schools out for summer, but the learning never stops.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2015 9:00 pm

    Stage 3 cancer? That sounds rough. You ok?

Leave a Reply

