Skip to content

Free Futon

May 3, 2012

So, it is hitting me. It’s really going to happen, and soon. As I stared at the natural family swap ad giving away her futon a wave of sadness washed over me. It’s really happening.

I wasn’t in denial when she first broke the moving news to me. But now it’s more real, more tangible. With every ad I see posted whittling away at her families possessions, I can taste the loss with in. Matched with an excitement for her, and her family, and the opportunity for growth on so many levels.

Yet, I am sad. It is not often I make friends with people who just get me and I get them. Even though We share many commonalities, we are very different people.

I could go on about how her and I went to high school together, she two years ahead of me. I could tell you about how I thought she was so cool, even though I didn’t know her. I could tell you how I emulated her princess leah buns because man she rocked them. I could tell you how I saw her act in a play my sophomore year and thought strangely, I am going to know her someday. And promptly forgot it. Until 5 years ago (and some change) her and I recognized each other at a party put on by my fiancé ( at the time and his roommate who went to college with her) . We then only started talking after I noticed her and I were due around the same time without first children. And we realized we lived about 1 mi. Away.
Fast forward 4 years, she has become one of my dearest friends. One of those people I feel like I have known forever, or at least knew I would meet someday. Someone who might be more quirky than me. And that is a good thing! someone who talks just as fast me and we can hold a conversation while we are both talking, at the same time. To our husband’s amazement and amusement.

She has been there for me through postpartum hell twice….she has been there for me as a child care provider. She gave me the confidence to NIP, and NAK.
She has been there for me more times than I can think of the times I have been there for her.
Though I know I have been there. I will miss my friend, but I know she is only a phone all or a plane hop away.

Just know you are loved, and you will be missed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

