Skip to content

I like Nut Milk – How to make homemade almond milk

January 27, 2012

I like to drink nut milk…

Ok stop laughing.

Yes, I am talking to you Guy! (That would be my husband with the sense of humor of a 12- year- old.)

Dairy (aka Cow’s) milk makes me cough and gives me tons of mucous. (TMI, huh?) So, to stop the hacking keeping my (then) new husband awake, in 2007I jumped on the soy milk train.  (This was before I was preggo with Miss Amelia.) Loved the stuff. I also loved how my nighttime hack cleared up, much to my Guy’s delight. Then, I read more up on soy, and I didn’t like what I  learned. (So I got off the soya, found my eggo preggo, and jumped right back on the dairy train. Moo! Moo!)

Hack…hack…hack…the cough came back. Not as bad as before, but still it was back.

I started to consider other milk alternatives such as rice, coconut, and almond.  In addition to being very spendy, they are full, full, full of sugar!!! Albeit evaporated cane juice, but this is still sugar people; it spikes my insulin and causes me to have a pretty ugly crash.

I knew there had to be another better homemade way.  (Isn’t there always?) After making my own homemade almond milk here a couple of times, I can attest it is very easy to make. (That is if you have the right equipment: high-power blender, fine metal strainer, and cheese cloth.)  Most importantly, I never knew how tasty homemade almond (nut) milk is. It beats expensive sugar laden store-bought varieties hands down!

Let me add one more thing, Nothing is more refreshing than a big ‘ol glass of homemade nut milk.

Or how about this one? My milkshake brings all the boys to the yard…

I digress.

::::

Homemade Almond Milk

Inspired by Fresh Blends – Blendtec.

Ingredients:

  • 1 c Unsalted almonds (preferably organic and raw) soaked overnight and rinsed.
  • 4 c water (divided)
  • 2 TBSP agave nectar or raw honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract/ paste
  • 1/8 tsp salt

How To:

*24 hours before place almonds in a covered container or jar and fill with water to cover by an inch or two. Leave out at room temp. overnight. I like to use a quart mason jar.

  1. Rinse soaked almonds and place into blender. (I highly suggest using a Blendtec, Vitamix, or other high-speed/high-power blender.)
  2. Pour  2 cups of  new water into blender with almonds.
  3. Select whole juice option on blender…or just blend the heck out of them for about 45 seconds.
  4. Strain almond milk through a fine mesh strainer over a large bowl. Use a large spoon to scrape and press the milk out of the pulp.
  5. Take the pulp and put it back into the blender with and  2 cups of water plus the additional ingredients. Select whole juice or blend blend blend with all your might.
  6.  Repeat step 4. This time really press all the moisture out of the pulp. Save the pulp it can be used in lots of recipes in place of almond flour.
  7. Rinse the blender and pour the almond milk back in and blend on low to incorporate the milk. (optional step)
  8. Rinse the bowl and strainer. Line strainer with moistened cheese cloth. Pour milk through cheese cloth. This step is also optional, but I really think it really gives the milk the mouthfeel of the commercial alternative milks. Otherwise the milk will have a rustic grit to it. This step takes about 5 minutes.
  9. Squeeze the cheese cloth to extract the remaining milk. Save this pulp too.

    Almond Pulp

  10. Store milk in the fridge and enjoy in 3-7 days. It will separate a little, so shake that milk and enjoy.

I know it seems like a LOT of work, but really it isn’t.  This takes me a total of 20 minutes to make this, plus Amelia loves to help scrape the pulp and squeeze the cheese cloth.

Yield 4 cups and some change.

Mmm…I am jonesin’ for some frothy nut milk right about now…

(Too much?)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mohammad Steinke permalink
    January 24, 2013 1:43 am

    almond milk reminds me of a very fine cows milk that i drank in new zealand.:

    My own, personal web-site
    http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/persistent-sore-throat/

  2. January 31, 2013 11:01 pm

    What do you do with the pulp?

  3. Garry Rametta permalink
    February 10, 2013 2:21 am

    With so many more people developing allergies and sensitivities to dairy products, finding tasty and cheap alternatives to milk can be a challenge. One tasty alternative that can be used in cooking and everyday use is almond milk. But honestly, almond milk can get pricey. Instead try making your own almond milk for a quick and easy project that is fun to do with the kids.^

    Current post produced by our blog
    <http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/krill-oil-vs-fish-oil/

Trackbacks

  1. Almond Milk | Seeking Joyful Simplicity
  2. Healthy Breakfast Ideas | Be Well Natural Medicine

Leave a Reply

