Skip to content

Chocolate Banana Cake with Chocolate Peanut Butter Ganache AKA Guy’s Birthday Cake 2011

October 20, 2011

Guy’s birthday was last week. His 33rd birthday to be exact. It is amazing how the cliché is true, “Time flies when you are having fun.”

This November we’ll mark our 7th  year together (only 4 1/2 of those married mind you). Nonetheless, 7 years is a long time. 26, I met Guy when he was 26 and I was 24. (Do the math. Done? Yep, well done. That’s right, I am 31. Congrats you can add.) We were just pups. Yet, I felt so old at the time, so ready to meet the “right guy”. Worried I was “too old”. Bah. Luckily I was ready to meet the right guy, because Guy is wonderful, and so much more than I ever imagined my husband to be.

(yeah yeah yeah…puke.)

Ingredients such as white sugar, powdered sugar, white flour, did I mention lots of powdered sugar, don’t usually make it into my kitchen, let alone my recipes.

 Hey come over here, shh….don’t tell anyone but, Amelia and I made  a fully-leaded-sugar-laden-cake.  And oh my it was DIVINE.

And oh my did my joints ache the next day from consuming an insane amount of sugar. My body was literally hung over.

Totally worth every bite.

Make this special cake for someone you love.

:::: Recipe below::::

Chocolate Banana Cake

Adapted from The Joy of Baking.com

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups granulated white (!!)  sugar
  • 1 3/4 cups white pastry flour
  • 3/4 cup good unsweetened cocoa powder (I used regular, not Dutch-processed, for a more robust chocolate flavor)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 – 1 1/2 cup mashed RIPE bananas (I used 3 medium bananas)
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup flavorless oil, I used canola (!!). I bet coconut oil would be really good!
  • 1 -2  teaspoons vanilla extract

Method:

Pre-heat oven to 350 and make sure your oven rack is in the center position for even baking.

Grease your 9 x13 pan –  I used coconut oil.

Combine the dry in one bowl and the wet in another.

In one bowl mix the sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder and soda, and salt.

In the other bowl, mix the eggs, mashed banana, water, oil, milk, and vanilla.

Now combine the two bowls – it’s a thin batter, DON’T add more flour. It’s going to be ok. Trust me.

Pour the batter into the greased pan.

Bake for approx. 35 -40 min or until a tooth pick comes out clean or in my case a fork, because I find toothpicks repulsive.

Remove from oven to chill while prepping this totally rockin’ ganache.

::::

Chocolate Peanut Butter Ganache

Adapted from Cooks.com

I know, I know this isn’t a true ganache. But this deserved to be called something far more grand than just frosting, perhaps “Truffle Fluff” or “Heaven in Your Mouth”. Hmm…perhaps not “Heaven in your Mouth”, because that just makes my mind go to dirty places.  Either way, it totally tastes like Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.  This yielded about 8 oz. more than I needed to frost the cake. I was so upset! Um…not really.

 Even if you don’t make the above cake, make this frosting is a wonderful treat dip for pretzel sticks or graham crackers. Heavenly and oh so naughty!

Ingredients:
  • 1/2 c. natural unsweetened creamy peanut butter
  • 1/3 c. unsweetened regular processed cocoa
  • 1 1/3- 2 2/3 c. confectioners’ sugar(!!)
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 – 1/2 c. cream, half & half or
    evaporated milk (just enough to make it smooth and pretty)

Method:

  1. Cream together peanut butter and cocoa with a stand mixer or hand mixer. Or if you are into self-torture, go ahead and whip it by hand. Whip it real good.
  2. Add salt, vanilla and about 1 cup powdered sugar, keep adding powdered sugar until it can absorb no more or you hit the call for amount.
  3. While the beater is going add a the cream, a little at a time. If it looks grainy add just a touch more cream and keep whipping. It will become, smooth and glossy. Not too thin. If you over do it add more powdered sugar…but trust me this isn’t a game of cat and mouse you want to play.
  4. Spread it on your fully cooled cake. Call the kids in, lick your fingers and hand one child the beaters and the other a spoon and the bowl.
  5.  Pass out with both kids in a sugar-crashed heap on the couch until your husband comes home from work and finds you, face down in drool. Happy Birthday honey!
  6. Stay up until Midnight eating cake and watching Peter Pan with the too-wired-for-bed-bouncing-off-the-walls children. Let them eat cake!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2011 10:26 am

    Yum. Looks absolutely decadent. I’ve eaten cupcakes with banana and chocolate, but I’ll I have to try making this cake! 🙂 Thank you for sharing the recipe.

  2. February 7, 2015 8:26 pm

    You’re welcome!

Leave a Reply

