Skip to content

Freezer Style : Red Sweet Bell Peppers

September 6, 2011


What I’ve got you’ve got to get it put it in you

Reeling with the feeling don’t stop continue

Put it away put it away put it away now

Put it away put it away put it away now

Put it away put it away put it away now *

(Give It Away – Red Hot Chili Peppers)

*Lyrics not quite accurate

Ok, I know it isn’t “put it away” but in this season of harvest and preservation it seemed to fit.

Here I go just amusing myself feeling all Weird Al Yankovich-y. I digress.

Now that you now have “Put it Away” aka “Give it Away” repeating over and over again in the convulutions of your cerebrum, let’s talk about peppers, baby. Not red hot chili peppers but, red sweet bell peppers.

We love bell peppers here, put ’em in nearly everything. I am always tossing a bag of frozen peppers in to the cart at Trader Joes. No more I say!

 Off to the St. Paul Farmer’s Market I went and bought up a large amount of peppers for (relatively) cheap!!!

 Chopped them up and froze  on trays. Once frozen I transfered them into gallon sized freezer bags. 4 gallon bags later. I don’t know if this will be enough to last the winter…but it is a start.

Greedy little people in a sea of distress
Keep your more to receive your less
Unimpressed by material excess
Love is free love me say hell yes!

Leave a Reply

