Skip to content

Babies Don’t Keep

May 11, 2011

Current events have fine tuned the focus of my vision and priorities of my time management.

 Family.

 Family is the most important. Not where the dish lies or the laundry goes. Family. Not if my bed is made or if there is a place for everything and everything in it’s place.

It’s family. My family will ALWAYS come before the aesthetics of my home. Relationships before material objects and the interactions with these inanimate objects. Let me be clear, I am not throwing in the towel on “homekeeping”. What I am throwing the towel in on is valuing my homekeeping above the relationships I have with my family.

I have also learned a valuable lesson for my future interactions with my children and their partners, be a non-judgemental presence. Check my heart and it’s intention before offering help. Ask myself, am I offering to help them because they want my help, or because I want to help them. In addition, am I helping them complete a task they desire or a task I desire for them?

When they say no, I will respect it. I will never ever question their partner’s way and why they keep their home. I will never make them defend their time management in regards to their housekeeping. I will never compare them to other individuals I know in similar circumstances.  These are not ways to build up a relationship.

I am not saying I am perfect or will ever be perfect. I am not saying I won’t be thinking certain thoughts but, I will check my judgement at the door. I will check any criticism at the door. My relationship with my children and their families will be far more important than any opinion I may or may not have regarding their life and homes.

:::

Babies Don’t Keep
by Ruth Hulburt Hamilton

Mother, O Mother, come shake out your cloth,
Empty the dustpan, poison the moth,
Hang out the washing, make up the bed,
Sew on a button and butter the bread.

Where is the mother whose house is so shocking?
She’s up in the nursery, blissfully rocking.

Oh, I’ve grown as shiftless as Little Boy Blue,
Lullabye, rockabye, lullabye loo.
Dishes are waiting and bills are past due
Pat-a-cake, darling, and peek, peekaboo

The shopping’s not done and there’s nothing for stew
And out in the yard there’s a hullabaloo
But I’m playing Kanga and this is my Roo
Look! Aren’t his eyes the most wonderful hue?
Lullabye, rockaby lullabye loo.

The cleaning and scrubbing can wait till tomorrow
But children grow up as I’ve learned to my sorrow.
So quiet down cobwebs; Dust go to sleep!
I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2011 7:46 pm

    This is perfect! I agree with you 100%.

  2. May 11, 2011 8:57 pm

    Well said, Kristina!

Leave a Reply

