Skip to content

The Nurse as an Instrument of Healing

November 8, 2010

Nurse as an

 Instrument of Healing

“A nurse who offers unconditional presence and helps remove the barriers to the healing process; one who creates the space, enhances the environment, is present to the phenomenon of the unfolding of the healing in another; a practitioner who opens the opportunity for another to feel safe and bring into alignment and heal that which as been painful and out of relationship with the self, other, Creator , and creation. “

“Nursing, it is a vocation; it is our hearts work that call from us our unique talents.” Dossey et al. “Holistic Nursing: A Handbook for Practice” pp. 722.

Nurse. I may try to detach myself from nursing, but I cannot escape it. Nurse is part of my self-definition and perception. Nurse also one way others define me. I realize more and more “nurse” is more than where I work and the tasks I complete. Just like, “mother” is more than giving birth and raising children. It is a “way” of being. And “being a nurse” has permeated “my being-ness“; just as I can not separate my being-ness from my other roles as mother, daughter, sister, wife, and  friend. All the hats we wear color our own personal perception of the world.  I can’t control “nurse” being part of my personal definition, but I can change the perceptions filtered through this nursing lens. Does this make sense? These perceptions can be burdens or blessings. When I allow myself to be present with my personal state of being and the relationships between my physical, intellectual, emotional, relational, spiritual, vocational, environmental, kinetic, and intuitive, I may perceive my current “self”.  One day I hope see the fullness of my everchanging  personal self-image.

“People think, feel, and behave in ways that are influenced by their perception of what is occurring in their lives. We make interpret our world through these perceptions. We can make sense of what is going on and grow or dismiss the events in our lives, respond in pain, fear, or confusion contributing to an anxious stressed inner state of being.” Dossey et al. “Holistic Nursing: A Handbook for Practice” pp. 722.

Instead of fighting being a nurse, I now am starting to pull the pieces of my being together into my self “picture”. Nurse is part of this picture. BUT I define the nurse I am, no one else.Following nearly every shift, I need to remind myself of this.  This definition of nurse in addition to my personal definition of self are not static, but dynamic. I can not allow my current nursing profession to discolor my sacred inner nursing vocation. My inner calling. Be it played out in a hospital setting, my home, or in my greater community.

“As instruments of healing, nurse acknowledge that dealing does not come from them, but though them. In their openness to the potential for healing that comes from the relationship not only between the caregiver and the individual, but also in the relationship with Creator and the energetic environment, they begin to experience the power and depth of the mystery of healing. Bringing the presence of Creator into the many dimensions of   being human can bring a deeper understanding of the wholeness, integrity, meaning and truth of the moment, situation , and self.” Dossey et al. “Holistic Nursing: A Handbook for Practice” pp. 729.

Thankfully this is a skill of becoming…a cultivation. “As instruments of healing nurses combine wisdom with their skills set, integrating these with the essence their being to form a holistic apporach to caring for self, others, and creation.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 11:45 pm

    I see that you love to write, have to thought to go and publish for AC (associate content with yahoo)? you have great ideas and you could be popular pretty fast!
    Just a suggestion!

    Cheers!

    • December 5, 2010 3:18 am

      Thanks for the encouragement. I have signed up, still learning to navigate through the process. Any tips?

  2. March 15, 2015 10:04 am

    I’m a nurse too and I agree with your thought keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

