Skip to content

Thrifty Thursday : Reusable Lids for Mason Jars

September 23, 2010

Things like this make me far too happy, to the point it is a little disturbing and blatantly clear I need to get out more.  What made me so giddy… like a teenage girl seeing her crush on the very first day of school after pondering what he was doing all summer but never had the guts to call because he didn’t know I was alive…giddy… a lid. Yep you read this correctly, a lid. But mind you not any ol’ lid, but a lid which fits many ol’ jars.

OK are you ready for it?

I am not sure that you are.

The lid from my organic Trader Joe’s peanut butter fit perfectly onto my  regular mouth mason jars!!! The plastic lids made by Ball for mason jars are pretty spendy and boring. If you mow down PB like our family you will have a supply of “free” lids for your mason jars in no time.

Plus they come in different colors like green and red…perfect and festive  for all of your homemade holiday treat gifting.

Have you found any jars with reusable lids?

P.s: Classico pasta sauce comes in an atlas mason jar! And the TJ lid fits. PERFECTION!

Not sure if this was a blog worthy subject, but it had me clapping for joy and spreading joy

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy Campbell permalink
    September 24, 2010 8:07 am

    Oh I’m going to spread the word !!! I love this tip!!!

  2. September 24, 2010 2:22 pm

    THIS IS AWESOME.

    My capslock was on, but I think my computer was feeling the excitement too. I love it!

  3. Nancy Weimann permalink
    February 22, 2012 1:28 am

    Thank you!! We buy marinara sauce at trader joes all the time. it comes in Mason jars but with the thinner threading and have been debating ordering new plastic lids. I went to try the peanut butter lid on it just now and it works! yay!! so resourceful. I can now take my green smoothie everywhere. Thanks again!

  4. mlr permalink
    December 8, 2012 1:19 pm

    This makes me very happy as I have spent the morning online looking for a non-canning lid that will fit a Classico Atlas Mason jar so I can repurpose them as drinking containers. Thank You!!

Leave a Reply

