Skip to content

Works for Me Wednesday – “I’m a coffee addict” Part zwei

August 18, 2010

I heart coffee! In the summer I usually switch over to more expensive iced bevies (especially now — safer to drink over my sleeping baby’s head). On my quest to stop keeping our local Caribou coffee in business, I now make-my-own-joe at home (most days).  At first I reused my plastic cup with a plastic lid and a plastic straw for my homemade concoctions. Then one night my wonderful husband, Guy,  surprised me with a reusable plastic thermos-type-cup, that looks just like a plastic cup with a plastic lid and a plastic straw, in support of my homemade coffee effort. 

Here is what I do: make my brew, turn off the pot and let it chill out while doing other tasks. Once it’s not raging hot, mix one part chocolate milk with one part coffee top it off with coffee ice cubes.

Coffee ice cubes:  Freeze left over brew into ice cubes and never have watered down iced java again. I was thinking of a way to market this (not-so) novel idea. Looks like someone beat me too it.

Oh, well. Even without my fancy coffee bean shaped coffee ice cubes, homemade iced mocha —It works for me!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2010 9:39 am

    A year or two I made a post about how I make my iced coffee. I make the coffee the night before and put it in the fridge. Quick and easy first thing in the morning!! : )

  2. August 18, 2010 3:00 pm

    YUM!! I haven’t mixed my coffee with chocolate milk before. I did add a single serving cup of chocolate pudding once though. I love that ice cube tray you showed. I actually saved my leftover coffee this morning to freeze for the first time. I think I might try it with the chocolate milk tomorrow. Thanks for the tip!

    • August 19, 2010 11:48 am

      Glad you liked it. I really like Santa Cruz organic chocolate syrup…it doesn’t have HFCS in it and it has a rich deep flavor. Kinda spendy but not as much as going out for an iced latte/mocha.

Leave a Reply

