Skip to content

Blogging A.D.D.

August 15, 2010

Yep, I have blogging attention….is that the sound of a rabbit chewing on a hasta over there…deficit disorder. I have everything and I have nothing to say all at once.

Here are a couple of things floating around my noggin…

I am returning to work in 10 days. Not to put a negative vibe on this post.  I don’t know if I should even talk about work on here because [omitted] Mainly, I am not looking forward to the stress of my job coupled with caring for my two children. See, I work part-time evenings as a registered nurse, 3pm-1130pm.  This equals about 2-3 times a week and every other weekend.  It doesn’t sound too bad, right?( I realize I am lucky to only work part-time.)  My husband works days (8am-6pm). So I am manning the kids from 7am or so until I leave for work at 2pm. So 2-3 days a week are 18 hour days for me. This is not including night-time feedings of my little one.  Secondly, I rarely get out of “work” on time. Yes, I am working on this. I vow to improve on this…but nonetheless, I am usually home around 12:30 am. Only to come home to probably nurse my son, try to get some sleep to do it all over again the next day. So, why don’t I get a day job?  Child care is expensive. By working evenings we only need childcare for 4 hours of my shift, instead of 8. At least this time my husband is done with law school. My hubby was going to school part-time (weekends and evenings) and working full-time (God bless him!)  I was working part-time evenings after Amelia was born, in addition to caring for our daughter on the evenings when my husband was in class. Stressful to say the least. God, love, grace, faith, and patience pulled us through. I prayed often and hard for God to help me be my husband’s “help-meet”. I continue to do so. 

 I want to grow. (I am a registered nurse). Always having an interest in ‘Holistic Health’ , ‘writing’ and ‘nutrition’, I am twinkle thinking a way to combine the these into a profitable and fulfilling career. Not planning to completely step out of my bedside role, but finding something to complement it. This may possibly include pursuing my master’s in Holistic Health, though I am not completely sure about that prospect at this time. This blog is my way of dipping my toes back into my writing mind, and perhaps growing this blog into something.

I have baby weight. I gained about 45lbs with Max and it isn’t coming off as easily this time around. I feel fat. A couple of weeks ago a woman asked me if I was pregnant (Max was with my mother). I almost went ape on her. But she was right, I do look pregnant! It is much harder to get out of the house with two children. Not impossible, just harder.

Stop feeling like I am staying and start feeling like I am living…in my home and in my life in general.  I am so excited we are going to replace the sea-foam green carpeting in our condo. The carpeting was there when we purchased it about 2 years ago. Knowing we would have a “toddler” in our midst sooner than later we delayed replacing it. Let me confess to you sea foam green is one of my LEAST favorite colors. I never feel at home when I am home because of them. Next week laminate wood floors will be installed. I am very much looking forward to this and finally feeling like I am in my home, not just a place I am staying until we move into a bigger place. I am also looking forward to coordinating and redecorating our home with my husband and replacing many items I did take part in picking out for our home (bed room set, end tables, living room lamps, etc…) May I finally be able to feather and organize our nest a little.

Decreasing plastic consumption. I am phasing out my plastic containers. Changing from pump soaps to bar soaps at the sink and in the shower. Looking into refillable options for my shampoo and conditioners at the co-op. We have already been using a refillable option for laundry detergent for over two years. (Stay tuned for post on this.)

I love to cook

Yep, I really do. I love to take a recipe and tweak it into something completely my own. I love taking simple ingredients and creating something complex and delicious. I love creating a relationship with my food. I love how cooking requires all of my senses.  Looking, smelling, hearing,  touching, and finally tasting. I love how I can involve  my children in this process. I love how my husband makes fun of my love of cook books and “The Splendid Table”. I love the history of recipes, how the ingredients in ethnic cuisine were influenced each conquering empire. Becoming a chef is not a goal, but just learning more about our food and how it sustains us.

Well, I have many other posts awaiting editing in the can.

My family is going out of town this weekend (Thursday-Sunday) so I will participate next week for “Menu Plan Monday.”

Toot a loo!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2010 11:49 pm

    Oh, wow, the childcare and the working sounds exhausting!! But maybe all the running around will take off the baby weight! 🙂
    With my first one the weight came off easily. The second one, not so easily.

  2. August 16, 2010 11:53 am

    You’ve got a lot on your mind, sister!

    What is “help-meet?”

    I’ve been thinking about house/home stuff too. I need to keep the balance between “let’s make it how we want it so we can stay here forever” and “let’s make it how we want it so we can practice for the next place and make it nice here for another family/group of college kids!” Been on my mind a lot lately!

    I know it’s rough with the weight/body image stuff. But you’re still not even 3 months postpartum! Cut yourself a little slack. You will get there! All that running around at work will help too. I know you’ll be ok.

    • August 16, 2010 4:27 pm

      Karen- here is an exerpt from a book which may help to define “help meet” (it’s hard to define)

      From Captivating by John and Stasi Eldredge

      When God creates Eve, he calls her an ezer kenegdo. “It is not good for the man to be alone, I shall make him [an ezer kenegdo]” (Gen 2:18 Alter). Hebrew scholar Robert Alter, who has spent years translating the book of Genesis, says that this phrase is “notoriously difficult to translate”. The various attempts we have in English are “helper” or “companion” or the notorious “help meet”. Why are these translations so incredibly wimpy, boring, flat… disappointing? What is a help meet, anyway? What little girl dances through the house singing “One day I shall be a help meet?” Companion? A dog can be a companion. Helper? Sounds like Hamburger Helper. Alter is getting close when he translates it “sustainer beside him.”

      The word ezer is used only twenty other places in the entire Old Testament. And in every other instance the person being described is God himself, when you need him to come through for you desperately.

      Most of the contexts are life and death, by the way, and God is your only hope. Your ezer. If he were not there beside you… you are dead. A better translation of ezer would be “lifesaver”. Kenegdo means alongside, or opposite to, a counterpart.

      Mainly I just picture a “help-meet” as a woman who is equally as strong as her man. And her man can only be as his woman and vise versa, a symmetry of strength, support, and comfort.

Leave a Reply

