Skip to content

My first successful loaf of bread!

August 12, 2010

“Rome wasn’t built in a day”, Guy said when I presented him with my lead brick of  whole wheat bread last week. The squirrels and crows had a feast behind our condo’s dumpster and I tried again. This time armed with a different recipe  from the book “Good to the Grain” by Kimberly Boyce. A very delicious book. If I made every recipe in it, which is entirely possible, I would weigh 300 lbs. Good thing I am a generous person and like to share my creations.

 Ok, now back to the bread. This time it rose. Yep, it was like magic. I nearly jumped up and down clapping, but restrained myself in fear of collapsing my masterpiece. Who knew air bubbles in dough could make a person giddy? And then it rose AGAIN! I know seriously! I should have been over it the first time, but again I was beyond happy. I should make bread everyday! When I baked the dough, it didn’t cave in the middle and I actually heard the hollow thump indicating the bread was done. The recipe stated to wait at least two hours until cutting into the bread allowing the “crumb” to develop or some jazz like that. It didn’t matter, I dove into that baby and devoured my first slice slathered with butter. Seriously, when I get to heaven, God had better be waiting for me with a slice of freshly baked buttered bread.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. sally powell permalink
    August 12, 2010 10:15 am

    It looks wonderful and very yummy!!! Bill has been makeing us bread here in Virginia Beach
    he lets it rise in the car becaues its deadly hot in there!! HAPPY baking to you love you!!xxoo

    • August 12, 2010 9:20 pm

      Why would you want to let the bread rise in a deadly hot car? Don’t you want a slow rise? I am kinda new to this though.

Trackbacks

  1. Oatmeal Sandwich Bread Recipe « The Crunchy Soup

Leave a Reply

