Skip to content

Menu Plan Monday – August 9th

August 10, 2010

Hi my wonderful readers! I hope you stayed cool today, I didn’t even think about going outside until after 8:30 pm. My car said it was still 84 degrees. YIKES!  It is a scorcher in the Twin Cities this week, so avoid using the oven if you can!

I am excited to share with you my newest segment, Menu Plan Monday (please check out I’m an organizing junkie’s Menu Plan Monday for great meal planning ideas and links to other participating blogs.)

Meal planning is one of my favorite ways to wind down on a Sunday evening. I like to take stock of what I already have and “shop my pantry” for the week.  I take note of what I don’t have and what I need when compiling my shopping list. This the first part of the week is fresh produce heavy since we joined a CSA this summer delivering on Fridays.

Here is what we will be eating for dinner this week:

Monday: Meatless Monday Pineapple Black Bean Enchiladas (using my freezer preserved farmer’s market green peppers, frozen corn, parsley from the CSA  instead of cilantro, and homemade soaked whole grain tortillas.)

Tuesday: Mixed Greens Salad w/ Rotisserie Chicken ($5.99 Whole Foods Tuesday Special + side of quinoa

Wednesday: Spaghetti Primavera w/ Rotisserie Chicken  (I pretty much throw in any veggies  left over from the yummy CSA.This week it looks like green beans, kale, carrots, tomatoes, and zucchini. YUM!)

Thursday:  Garlic Chickpea Pasta. I use my homemade chicken stock (stay tuned for a post on this). This recipe is VERY versatile, I just stir in whatever veggiesI  have on hand in the freezer and from our CSA. This week, carrots, peas, and kale.

Friday: Homemade pizza / or leftovers.

Sat./Sun.:  I don’t plan these days as we end up out with family or out in general.

WHAT IS ON YOUR MENU THIS WEEK?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    August 12, 2010 8:07 am

    Great recipe ideas! Wish I had your energy for putting all this together. How do you do it with an infant and two year old? Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

