Skip to content

Works for me Wednesday!

August 4, 2010

Cloth diaper liners. I previously used Bummis Bio-soft flushable liners. But at $7.00 / 100  count, they got a little spendy @ appox. 7 cents each.  Lately, I have started to reuse my disposable wipes as liners. I wash the wipes, used for non-poopy cleanups, with my diapers. Then, I just roll ’em up like the commercial liners. In my opinion, they work better than the Bummis liners AND they are reusable. If  my kiddo doesn’t do a pooper, I can wash the wipe/liner AGAIN!!! I can’t do this with the Bummis liners.  Love this!  Only once they are pooped on I throw them out. A box of wipes (Target’s up & up  brand costs about $13 (w/ tax),  subtracting the cost of liners this is actually very economical for us.) Most CD’ers I know don’t use liners or disposable wipes. For now we use shared laundry facilities, so I have to spray out the poopy dipes, which I HATE doing. Less spraying = happier mom!

 Works for me!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    August 12, 2010 9:00 am

    Do you use them as inserts in a cover? I have a couple green mountain and bum genius.

    • August 12, 2010 10:19 am

      I lay them on top of the dipe so that when jr. poos I can just pull the liner out and hopefully most of the poo. The downside to these liners is they are not flushable. Did you know we are supposed to be disposing of poo in the toilet even w/ disposables? When I use the liners (re used wipes) I can’t flush them and the poo in the toilet. This isn’t a huge del for Amelia since her poos are more soild, I just knock it out of the liner into the toilet and toss the liner. but for Max the BF poo just soaks into the liner so I end up throwing the poo away….I hate spraying dipes but a diaper sprayer is a wonderful investment to spray out dipes, soiled clothing, pottys, etc….I hope this helps. I found I used one system of dipes when they were little ( GMD cotton fitteds and prefolds w/ a cover) then graduating to my pocket dipes like BGs

  2. Nicole permalink
    August 12, 2010 9:02 am

    Sorry that probably sounded silly but I’m still trying to figure it out. Guess until I start trying I won’t really know. 🙂

    • August 12, 2010 10:22 am

      totally no prob! cding is something that you kinda have to do and figure out what works best. We use sposies at night though.

  3. Nicole permalink
    August 12, 2010 12:32 pm

    Just an FYI: I was at Target (Maple Grove) this morning and noticed that the dipes you mentioned are clearenced (only the big box). Ours were priced at $7.83 which is great!

    • August 12, 2010 2:47 pm

      which the dipes or the wipes…thanks!
      You should check out my post on jam. I was thinking about those nutragrain like bars we made this spring. Freezer jam would work PERFECTLY…or even just making a small batch of jam would too. Tangents….be sure to take care in this heat preggo!

  4. Nicole permalink
    August 12, 2010 12:34 pm

    Thanks for the additional info Kristina. That’s kind of the same idea I had but haven’t been able to try it out yet.

  5. Nicole permalink
    August 12, 2010 9:34 pm

    The wipes are on sale. Is that what you were referring to?

    I looked at your jam post earlier today and am going to try it this weekend. Unless this baby decides to come (please!!). 🙂 Alex and I have been using quite a bit of jam recently so I was excited to read your post.

    In terms of diapers..I have a couple Bummis, Thirstie Duo’s and Bum Genius. Oh and I bought the prefolds from Green mountain as well. Thought I would give each a try and see what happens. My husband is not really on board with my latest mission so I really need to find something that works. Alex isn’t potty trained yet and we are going through disposables like you wouldn’t believe. I probably should try and switch him but just have had a hard time making the transition.

Leave a Reply

