Skip to content

Recipe Organization

July 18, 2010

 Guy is going nuts (actually I am too) with all the clutter in the way of recipes everywhere.You know the ones, ripped out of magazines, scribbled on the back of envelopes, floating around on 3×5 cards.  I am proposing a new challenge and I need you to keep me accountable. I am going to actually make the recipes I have collected. Yep, you heard me I am going to make the recipes. I am going to treat this like purging my closet.

Step 1: Go through the recipes and pull out the recipes I think I will actually make someday. Throw away the rest. (This will be  painful!)

Step 2: Organize the remaining recipes. Ideas. How do you organize your stash? I am thinking I am going to organize with in genres and then within each separate by seasons.  I am not going to make something with pumpkin in the Spring or something with asparagus in the Winter.

Step 3: Make the recipes. Report back to you on the hits and misses.

Final product: an organized recipe “book”,  uncluttered kitchen, new repertoire of recipes, and a happy husband.

 I need your help and ideas please. How do you organize your recipes? I was thinking of getting a 3-ring binder with 3×5 photo sleeve inserts. Writing/printing the recipes on a 3×5 cards and then placing a picture of the dish beside it. (Sometimes I need a visual for motivation.)

What do you think of this?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristi permalink
    July 18, 2010 3:37 pm

    Hey Kristina – I finally organized my recipes a few months ago. I used to have them in plastic sleeves but found it to be too difficult, as I had way too many. I now get most of my recipes online and they print on one page, which means using one sleeve for two recipes, which is expensive. So I took a 3 ring binder and 3 hole punched each page. I use tabs to separate each section (breads, soups, etc.). I do have a problem with keeping things seasonal…for example, I’m tired of paging through apple recipes to get to a berry dessert. I’m trying to think of a good way to keep that straight – let me know if you find a solution!

    • July 18, 2010 8:04 pm

      Kristi I am confused. So do you have your recipes in the sleeves ? Does this work for you? Thanks for sharing!

      • Kristi permalink
        July 18, 2010 9:14 pm

        Nope, not in the sleeves. I usually print the recipe on one page and then three hole punch the piece of paper and put in my binder. Decided to save money by not using sleeves! Yes, it works well for me.

  2. July 18, 2010 10:20 pm

    My parents do this: The recipes they use often and love are printed out (from the web) or typed up LARGE and stuck into a plastic sleeve in a 3 rig binder – only 1 recipe per page (2 if you count front and back). They are divided into catergories like “meat”, “veggies” “salads” etc.

    I used to think it was crazy but now I am doing that too. Before G was born I typed up some faves and put them in a binder. Now if I find ones online I like I cut and paste into a word doc and print occasionally. Mostly though I just threw like my entire pile I had collected away. I figured “someday” for those had past – there are always more where that came from.

    It’s a work in progress over here too – I still have some stuffed in there – good reminder.

    I like the large print, one per page, and sleeve system because you can SEE what you are doing and if it is a dud you just reuse the paper – no more weeding thru duds.

    • July 18, 2010 10:22 pm

      NAk so sorry if oddly worded.

      also can just wipe off plastic sheets if flour gets on ’em.

      binders galore @artscraps, btw

  3. September 21, 2010 12:28 am

    This might be too strange, but whatever I have (and I have a lot) I glue them in a big book…but whatever works for you..putting them into the sleeves is probably more organized 😀

Leave a Reply

