Skip to content

Wee!!!!

July 15, 2010

Lately, I have felt a little like a caged animal ready to lash out at any unsuspecting bystander (AKA my husband, Guy.) So I  started planing outings everyday with the kiddos, even if it is only walking to the end of the block!  This week has been busy! I am sure you all think I must have died or something due to my lack of Facebook updates. No?   Our week has played out like this: Monday – “Library Day”. Which turned into “Darn-it-we-walked-here-and-the – library-opens-at-noon-oh-crud-now-what-day?” I took a bit of wisdom from one of Amelia’s favorite movies, “Finding Nemo“, “Just keep swimming…swimming…swimming!”  So, this is just what we did all the way to my “BFF” Karen’s house for an impromptu visit. Thanks Dory! Tuesday  – Walked to Whole Foods for a rotisserie chicken with Amelia and Guy. Which leads us to today, Wednesday – Grandma fun day, which turned into grandma fun day at the M.O.A.  Now, if you know me you know I am not one to be frequently found mall roaming. I prefer open air markets with the sun on my face and wind in my hair. But, the sky was darkening and ready to heave.  I was not going to let the rain keep me down. “Ain?t nothing gonna break my stride . Nobody?s gonna slow me down, oh no, I’ve got to keep on moving!”  So off to the biggest mall in America we went! While my mother and I fully caffeinated ourselves at one of the FOUR, (yes four!) Caribou coffee shops in the mall, Amelia (my 2-year-old) went apes**t  for Nickelodeon Universe. “Park is over there Mama, Let’s go! Let’s go rides mommy! Let’s go grannmaaaa!” So, I figured we would fork over a couple bucks to the coin operated merry go rounds and call it a day. After spending 50 cents splitting the ride with another desperate family for a 20 second go round I pondered  how much the rides cost. I thought maybe Amelia could to go on maybe, one.  Much to my surprise about 5  of the rides were geared for Amelia’s age group and they were having a mega awesome ride package deal. $9.95 for an unlimited ride wristband for all the toddler rides and parents ride free on most. SOLD!  Thus began one of the happiest days in Amelia’s life                                                                                          She rode the carousel twice, the car chaser twice, the balloon ride, and the bus ride with my mom. While I watched on and nursed Max, the clouds parted, the sun began to shine and warmed my face through mall sky lights. It was divine! But, did you  know  you can get sun burned at the Mall?  I was a nice shade of pink!  Bummer!  Only at the M.O.A wound one have to  put on a schmear of SPF!!  Amelia throughly enjoyed herself and then throughly conked out in her stroller just in time to miss lunch. Oh, well!  My mother and I took advantage of this down time to dine at a sitdown restaurant for the first time in months. It was wonderful to hold a uninterupted adult conversation for more than 5 min.

Later in the evening, Amelia couldn’t wait to tell daddy all about her day.

Tomorrow: The Minnesota Zoo with grandpa (AKA Papa). Lunch – check, diaper bag-check. I am ready for another adventure and ready to get out of the house! Wahoo!!!

 Laundry and dishes, you will just have to wait another day. Darn!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 16, 2010 8:19 pm

    it was great to see you three! sounds like the rest of your week was full o’rock! : )

Leave a Reply

