Skip to content

{Works for me Wednesday} That’s a crock of ….Apple Sauce Chicken

January 4, 2012

I have not been the most faithful wife. So, I might as well share this with you on my blog. I have fallen in love and taken another lover. Don’t worry, Guy knows, so this isn’t news to him.

Great satisfaction and squealing abound whenever I am near. Patient, slow, and steady also describe my new lover.  And, best yet,  my husband approves and even encourages my new relationship, since it’s conception,  he loves what I’m now putting out.

Who has wooed me?  In the shape of an oval, that completes me?

Yes reader, I am in love with my Crock-Pot (aka my slow-cooker).

All jokes aside, I am seriously head over heels.

Over the last month I have experimented with several slow cooker recipes.

Today’s adventure, Crock-Pot Apple Sauce Chicken.

If you aren’t familiar with the Crockpot 365 Blog or Stephanie’s Book “Make it Fast, Cook it Slow”, I would HIGHLY recommend taking a moment to check them both out. I’ll wait here while you click on the link above.

Back? Pretty awesome, right?

::::

Crock Pot Apple Sauce Chicken

Inspired by: Make it Fast, Cook it Slow by Stephanie O’Dea

  •  4 frozen chicken breast halves or thighs (I used 2 of each)
  • 1 1/2 C unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 small or 1/2 large yellow onion, chopped finely
  • 1 TBSP apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes (optional)
  • 2 TBSP brown sugar (optional)
  • 1/4`- 1/2 tsp salt. (I used Sel de Cusine from The Golden Fig.)

The How To:
(Use a 4 quart crockpot)

  1. Place the (I had frozen) chicken pieces into the crock.
  2. Chop and add the raw onion.
  3.  In a measuring cup, measure the applesauce and add the vinegar, garlic, and spices together. Stir. Pour on top of the chicken.
  4. Give it a stir.
  5. Cover and cook on low for 5-7 hours, or on high for 3-4 hours. I started mine on high for about 90 minutes, until the chicken thawed, and then bumped it back to low.

Serve with rice or quinoa and a salad or steamed veggie.

Works for me!!!

{Works for me Wednesday}

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

