Skip to content

Less Stuff = More Relaxation

August 20, 2010

We are going up-north over the weekend, which is quintessential Minnesotan.  Even though I will spend three hours cramped in my jeep with my 2-year-old, 3-month-old, husband, and mother-in-law later this afternoon on our way to a Polynesian themed water park, I woke up rather calm.

 C….A…L…M.

Well let me back this up a little for you. Since we are spending the weekend away from home, Guy and I decided it was the perfect time to finally replace our carpet with laminate wood floors. Last evening I packed up the kiddos and we spent the night at our local “Holiday Inn” while Guy and his father tore up the carpet.

 Now back to the waking up calm part. I awoke and didn’t have to make breakfast, or clean, or do laundry, etc… And there wasn’t clutter everywhere. Mainly, I awoke to clean and tidy surroundings. Ahh…Calgon take me away.

Side note: I just started reading, “Simplicity Parenting”. Many of the practices can crossover for adults too. Fewer toys, less exposure to electronics, decreased scheduled time, more free play. What I like about this book the most is it doesn’t say, “Throw everything away and play with sticks in the back yard.” (Though I don’t think there is anything wrong about playing with sticks.) He talks about limiting toys and books, and increasing toys which require more imagination play. He uses the Waldorf model, which I’m still learning more about.

Back to my point, less = more. More calm for me = more calm for my family. Stay tuned for my journey toward less and organization.

Is clutter something you struggle with?

 How do you combat clutter in your home?

 I would love to hear your suggestions and what works for you and your family!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy Campbell permalink
    August 20, 2010 11:41 pm

    How does another family pass to the Children’s Museum sound???

    Love You Mom

  2. August 22, 2010 1:42 pm

    AHHHHH! I hate clutter and it just creeps in creeps in creeps in. I was actually working on a post in the can about this very thing, ya psychic hottie BFF.

    The stuff that drives me nuts are the little stupid things that somehow don’t get put back – like this card from “memory” that has been next to the computer for a week, or random junk on top of my dresser than intends to come back downstairs but doesn’t make it since my arms always have kids. I need to solve that problem. I used to just do a sweep-thru and put stuff in the laundry basket as I went up or down, but it’s not really working anymore.

    We give stuff away all the time. I hid all these toys and books but somehow we have a ton out again, although I didn’t buy any!

    Part of me is trying to make peace with a lot of the “kid-related stuff”. Once we know we’re done, like 90% of it will go away. Yet I know that it will be replaced by pre-teen junk like Caboodles and stuff. YARGH!

    • August 22, 2010 7:56 pm

      Oh. And I read that book! I really enjoyed it. Also, I’m cracking up over the “sticks in the yard” thing.

      • August 22, 2010 9:40 pm

        ha ha I still have my caboodle…It has served many functions…it now houses random office supplies…oh femed out tackle box how I love thee!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 254 other followers

