Skip to content

Gut Scraper Bread

July 15, 2010
Here is the requested recipe for my multi grain banana bread with sneaky add ins. This is my way of getting Amelia to eat more whole grains and veggies!

2c mega flour (recipe below)
1/2 c whole wheat flour (plus a little more depending on the batter consistency.)
1c plain low-fat yogurt, kefir, or low-fat milk
1/2 c oil (I have gotten away with 1/4c) I use coconut oil. Super yummy!
1 egg lightly beaten
1/2 c honey (1/4 c agave)
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3 ripe bananas (mashed)
2/3 c carrot or vegetable/ fruit purée (if you are light on the bananas add more purée)
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice (or whatever spice blend you prefer)
1 tbsp brown sugar

Mega flour (super nutrient, protein, omega 3, and fiber dense. Yeehaw!)
Grind all these up. I used my magic bullet and the grinding blade.  Note: there will be left over flour… store it in the fridge and just use it in pancakes and/or other baking.
2/3 c oatmeal (old-fashioned slow cooking)
2/3 c quinoa
1/3 c lentils (dry)
1/3 c millet (optional)
1/3 c flax seeds
3 TBSP Chia seeds (optional)

Pre-heat oven 350 degrees

Line a loaf pan with parchment and spray with non-stick spray or rub with a little coconut oil.

Mix all the ingredients together. Try not to over work it.
Pour the whole mess into your prepared pan.
Sprinkle brown sugar on top (makes a wonderful sweet crust)
Bake for 50-60 min. Until lightly browned and springs to the touch…don’t over cook. Stick a toothpick in if you are anal and need reassurance. If it comes out clean, you’re golden.

This is a wonderful toddler snack! Amelia will eat this plain for every meal if I let her. With a relatively  low glycemic index this won’t spike their sugars too much. (Who wants to deal with a sugar crashed kid at 4pm!)
I love it with a smudge of natural organic creamy PB. I don’t spike my sugars on this because it is high in protein.

I haven’t done a nutritional profile on this recipe but, it is high in minerals, protein, omegas and fiber.
Guy calls this “gut scraper” bread because of its high fiber content and its “cleansing” ( cough) effects.

Eat up and cheers to your colon! Bazinga!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2010 8:14 pm

    YUM!! So delish. Bazinga!

  2. July 18, 2010 11:06 am

    I was just thinking for the Mega flour 1/2 cup : 1/4 cup ratios would also work well it’s just per my taste preference (I didn’t like a LOT of lentils in it and flax and be quite bitter at times. Anyway just thought I would share.

  3. Britt permalink
    September 16, 2010 7:28 pm

    I sub the bananas for orgainc pumpkin pie puree. I love this recipe because I can sub any thing for the bananas. Next time I either want to try adding shredded zucchini, carrots and raisins, then I want to make one with apple slices and apple sauce. Yummy!!

    • September 16, 2010 9:43 pm

      Sounds yummy! Zucchini genius! Thanks for letting us know about your ideas. I love flexible recipes like this, gets the creative (and salivary) juices flowing. :-)

  4. September 23, 2010 6:03 pm

    This recipe looks delicious! I am definitely going to give it a try! You’re right, it’s not too different from my morning glory muffins but I love that it has bananas! Yum!

Trackbacks

  1. Gut Scraper Bread « mamalooma
  2. Carrot Cashew Soup « Crunchy Soup
  3. 5 Ways to Revamp Your Leftovers « Crunchy Soup
  4. That’s a Crock of … Vegan Banana Bread « Crunchy Soup

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 254 other followers

